top of page

Let it Go

Updated: Mar 26, 2019




Currently I am having trouble of letting go of something in my past. This happens when you are healing. I am reminded of the story of the Zen Master who said "Is that so?" to resistance situations (story below). Resistance needs to released by letting go.


Technically, my house is being stolen from me. The mortgage is in my name and the deed is in someone else's name. And I don't even live in this house anymore. The deed holders kicked me out. However, these are all thoughts and I can choose how I relate to those thoughts. 2018 was full of struggles and fights with the people who did this. I will be giving the details of this in my programs, books, and with my clients. The only reason I will do this is so I can share how I overcame these things.


Today I woke up thinking of one of the many attorneys who screwed me. I realize now that the "attorneys screwing me" was just a self fulfilling prophecy. My ego gets to me sometimes and wants to jump right back into the battle saying, "you want to make sure this guy does not screw anyone else." "you will be helping others." and on and on. Therefore I jumped right back into the pity party and the pendulum hooked me again.


I know intellectually it feels so much better to let it go. I have done it and the rewards are tremendous. But every once in a while the ego slips past my Higher Self and brings me down. Not for long though. I now have skills. I know I need to let go and raise my vibration and I will.


Synchronicity here: Rusty woke up at 2:30 in the morning and drank his water and went under the bed. I had to pull him out from underneath the bed. This is highly unusual for him. He only goes under the bed when he is very afraid. Some negative energy entered the bedroom last night. It wasn't there for very long but it lingered long enough to trigger my resistance. It will go. I will release it. And I will teach others how to do this too. This is much better than forcing karma.


I am reminded of an awesome "letting go" story and I will leave you this....


Zen master letting go


There is a story about a Zen Master named Hakuin who lived in a town in Japan. He was held in high regard and many people came to him for spiritual teaching. Then it happened that the teenage daughter of his next-door neighbor became pregnant. When being questioned by her angry and scolding parents as to the identity of the father, she finally told them that the father was Hakuin, the Zen Master. In great anger the parents rushed over to Hakuin and told him with much shouting and accusing that their daughter had confessed that he was the father. All that he replied was, “Is that so?”


News of the scandal spread throughout the town and beyond and the Master lost his reputation. This did not trouble him. Nobody came to see him anymore. He remained unmoved. When the child was born, the parents brought the baby to Hakuin saying, “You are the father, so you look after him.” The Master took loving care of the child. A year later, the mother remorsefully confessed to her parents that the real father of the child was the young man who worked at the butcher shop. In great distress they went to see Hakuin to apologize and ask forgiveness. “We are really sorry. We have come to take the baby back. Our daughter confessed that you are not the father.” “Is that so?” is all Hakuin would say as handed the baby over to them.


The Master responds to falsehood and truths, bad news and good news, in exactly the same way: “Is that so?” He allows the form of the moment, good or bad, to be as it is. Events are not personalized. He is nobody’s victim. He is so completely at one with what happens that what happens has no power over him anymore. Only if you resist what happens are you truly at the mercy of what happens, and the world will determine your happiness and unhappiness. The baby is looked after with loving care. Nonresistance is very powerful and so-called “bad” turns into so-called “good” through the power of nonresistance. Always responding to what present moment requires, Hakuin lets go of the baby when it is time to do so.


Much love to you! Until next time, Kathie



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page