top of page

3 Ways Spirituality is Different from Religion


3 ways spirituality differs from religion with Kathie's Coaching



I overheard a conversation this weekend about "Accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior." I was immediately drawn into how silly people are by saying this. This conversation went on and on and was all about how a person is screwed because they don't know Jesus as 'so-called' Christians see Him. How weird is this to you?


Well, it is very judgmental for one. You are judging someone because they don't see life the way you see it. That someone is damned to hell if they do not know Jesus. That is so f***ked up! That is a miserable way to look at life. But some folks are so stuck on that pendulum and giving it their energy that there is no way to change their minds.


I was brought back to this post I posted a while back. 3 Ways Spirituality is Different form religion. It amazes me how Christians think they know the way and refuse to look through the eyes of love and acceptance of all.


1. Spirituality has no rules. Religion creates rules to control. I once had a friend tell me that someone should forgive her for an ugly action because that someone was a devout Catholic. This is wrong on so many levels and actually felt icky to me. As a spiritual person it is not my place to demand forgiveness. We are not separate. We are all drops in one big ocean. What you do to others you do to yourself. If you feel someone needs to forgive, offer forgiveness. Or simply observe your thoughts on this and see how your feeling changes. This leads me to my second difference between spirituality and religion.

2. Religion separates, spirituality unites. There are so many different religions in the world. I was raised Protestant, many of my friends are Catholic, and I grew up in a predominantly Jewish community. Spirituality combines all the truths from the different religions into ONE. This is awesome and was a great discovery to my soul. My Catholic friends on the other hand believe if you don't know Jesus like "they" do you will be damned to hell. And the Jews killed Jesus so guess where that sends them. Imagine my delight when I became spiritual.

3. Spirituality is based only on love and not on fear. Growing up a Christian I was taught to fear God. This could not be further from the truth. God knows nothing of fear. Besides fear is a way to attract more fear into your life as it is a law of the universe. Wouldn't you rather attract more love? Whenever I feel fear I quickly transmute that energy into love and find my life a whole lot happier and full of more love happenings and less fear.


Religion is a funny thing, don't you think? I mean they propose to love and not judge others but yet by their very existence they do this. Just food for thought.


Until next time, Much love - unconditionally, Kathie :)


If you enjoyed this post you might also like:



Be sure to visit my challenge page and see what's new!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page