top of page

I Quit Intermittent Fasting and Here's Why

Updated: Feb 12, 2020













I had to quit intermittent fasting because I was not getting enough calories to support my activity levels and program goals. When you do not consume enough calories your body stores more fat to use for energy. I have since introduced another meal (or two) into my day and quit watching the clock for my meal times.


According to this calculator, my daily caloric intake for my activity level is about 2,000 calories. While intermittent fasting I was consuming about 1,200 (sometimes less 😗) calories a day and was feeling very hungry in the mornings which is when I exercise. I added a breakfast which has helped tremendously.


I was also not consuming enough protein for my current program. I need about 130-150 grams of protein. I was consuming about 60-90 grams a day which was hurting my muscle gains. I am not trying to bulk up but build lean muscle mass. Protein is essential for this!


Click Here to Calculate your Daily Caloric Intake. You can also calculate your macros on here too. Macros are your protein, carb and fat intake. I do a regular, lean muscle mass intake. I do not cut carbs! I need my carbs for energy. But if you prefer a low-carbohydrate diet you do you boo!! The calculator will also calculate this as well.


Here is more information on Intermittent Fasting which can be extremely beneficial if you are trying to cut back or monitor your food intake:


Intermittent fasting also known as IF is an eating pattern where you cycle between periods of eating and fasting. Click Here for the 7 Day Intermittent Fasting Challenge.


Benefits of IF: We get significant reductions in blood sugar and insulin levels, as well as a drastic increase in human growth hormone Click here to read my blog post on 2 Ways to Improve Growth Hormone Naturally.


Some research also suggests that it can help protect against diseases, including heart disease, type 2 diabetes, cancer, Alzheimer's disease and others.


Whatever the case I did find IF to be very beneficial to my 50 plus active lifestyle and adds great benefit to my #combatagingwithwellness. Just make sure you are consuming enough calories. Need help tracking your caloric intake? Try myfitnesspal or the loseit apps. Both are free and are great ways to track your calories, macros, and more.


Until next time, have a healthy day! Kathie :)



0 comments
bottom of page