top of page

Have a Plan When You Hit the Gym


Plan your workouts with your calendar


One of the biggest mistakes people make is going to the gym without a plan. This can lead to you wondering around the gym doing the same things over and over again and actually not help you at all.


Before you hit the gym you MUST know what you are going to do. Here is how I plan for my clients and myself:


1. I ask what cardio needs to be done that day and plan accordingly. Time and type

2. I figure what strength training needs to be done that day and plan accordingly. Sets and reps


Today for example is Chest and Triceps day and I always warm up with about 10 minutes of cardio, either on the stairs or the elliptical.


My workout split is as follows and I will do about 3-4 supersets per muscle group:

Day 1: Glutes with Hamstring focus

Day 2: Chest and Triceps (push day)

Day 3: Shoulders and Abs

Day 4: Back and Biceps (pull day)

Day 5: Glutes with Quad focus


If my week is cut short I will train Shoulders with Chest and Triceps because you already use shoulders on this day. And I throw Abs in on Back and Biceps day. And sometimes I will train legs only once a week.


Currently I am working more on my meditation practice and I am not focusing so much on my fitness as I had gone 2 years working out 6-7 days a week. I needed a little hiatus and this is good. I go through my workouts during the week as progressively.. It is all about balance my friends!


Want assistance planning your workouts? Want a program designed specifically for you? Contact me at kathiesfitblog@gmail.com


Happy training! Until next time, Kathie

0 comments
bottom of page