top of page

6 Risk Factors Caused by High Cholesterol


Be aware of risk factors caused by high cholesterol with Kathie's Coaching

I was recently diagnosed with high cholesterol. A few of my clients have high cholesterol as well. I know what I need to do but also researched the risks of high cholesterol so as to be advised.


I am on high blood pressure medication. It's genetic, thanks Dad. My cholesterol may be genetic as well. But I stepped on the scale at the doctor's office and I was shocked at the number. 😆 I weighed 10 pounds more than I thought. I know why. I love sugar and cookies and cake and beer. I have been eating these in abundance but quickly cut back on sugar and beer since seeing the scale. I have lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks so I am on track to bringing this number down. I also have become much more aware of what I am eating.


Here are 6 risk factors caused by high cholesterol:


Poor diet. Eating saturated fat, found in animal products, and trans fats, found in some commercially baked cookies and crackers and microwave popcorn, can raise your cholesterol level. Foods that are high in cholesterol, such as red meat and full-fat dairy products, will also increase your cholesterol. See? This is my main issue.


Obesity. Having a body mass index (BMI) of 30 or greater puts you at risk of high cholesterol. BMI stands for Body Mass Index and can honestly be a horrible way to detect obesity. While my BMI may be high I am at a lean body weight due to my low body fat percentage which is currently at 24% at 54 years of age. Please see the chart below:


Body Fat Percentage Chart with Kathie's Coaching



Lack of exercise. Exercise helps boost your body's HDL, or "good," cholesterol while increasing the size of the particles that make up your LDL, or "bad," cholesterol, which makes it less harmful. I am exercising enough so I know this is not my issue - go back to the sugar...lol 😆


Smoking. Cigarette smoking damages the walls of your blood vessels, making them more prone to accumulate fatty deposits. Smoking might also lower your level of HDL, or "good," cholesterol. This is not me, but it could be someone I am thinking about now.


Age. Because your body's chemistry changes as you age, your risk of high cholesterol climbs. For instance, as you age, your liver becomes less able to remove LDL cholesterol.


Diabetes. High blood sugar contributes to higher levels of a dangerous cholesterol called very-low-density lipoprotein (VLDL) and lower HDL cholesterol. High blood sugar also damages the lining of your arteries.


If you think you have high cholesterol be sure to visit with your doctor. Take this very seriously as high cholesterol can lead to heart disease, stroke, and other health issues. I will have my blood tested in 5 months and will update you accordingly. I hope to pleasantly surprise you with the details. If not I really think mine is genetic, as my mom who weighs 90 pounds soaking wet and has all her life, has high cholesterol. Thanks Mom! It's all good!


If you enjoyed this post you might also like:


Happy Training!!


0 comments
bottom of page